This ‘Ted Lasso’ Star Just Won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Rich Fury/Getty Images

First it was Donald Glover for Atlanta. Then it was Bill Hader for Barry, followed by Eugene Levy for Schitt’s Creek. And now, a brand-new winner is taking over the comedy throne.

Tonight, television’s biggest stars attended the 73rd annual Emmy Awards. During the ceremony, Jason Sudeikis walked away with the statuette for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series for Ted Lasso.

Other nominees included Anthony Anderson for Black-ish, Michael Douglas for The Kominsky Method, William H. Macy for Shameless and Kenan Thompson for Kenan.

The Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series category has been around since 1953. Levy won last year’s award, beating out Anderson for Black-ish, Don Cheadle for Black Monday, Ted Danson for The Good Place, Douglas for The Kominsky Method and Ramy Youssef for Ramy.

Other previous winners include Jeffrey Tambor for Transparent, Jim Parsons for The Big Bang Theory, Jon Cryer for Two and a Half Men, Alec Baldwin for 30 Rock, Ricky Gervais for Extras, Tony Shalhoub for Monk, Kelsey Grammer for Frasier, Ray Romano for Everybody Loves Raymond, Eric McCormack for Will & Grace, Michael J. Fox for Spin City and Family Ties, John Lithgow for 3rd Rock from the Sun, Danson for Cheers, Craig T. Nelson for Coach, Burt Reynolds for Evening Shade and Richard Mulligan for Empty Nest.

If you need us, we’ll be re-watching both seasons of Ted Lasso.

Stay up-to-date on every breaking story by subscribing here.

RELATED: The Worst 2021 Emmy Award Snubs: From Nicole Kidman to Teyonah Parris

From Around The Web

The News—But Only the Fun Stuff—
Delivered Right to Your Inbox.