ComScore

Camilla Parker Bowles Is Following in Kate Middleton's Footsteps with Her Latest Venture

It looks like Camilla Parker Bowles is taking a page out of her daughter-in-law's book.

While Kate Middleton spent last May hiding copies of her photography book, Hold Still, across the U.K., the Duchess of Cornwall seemingly thought this was a good idea, as she is now doing the exact same thing.

We're well aware of the duchess's love for reading, given that she launched a book club in 2021 called The Reading Room and she uses her social media accounts to perform readings of her favorite titles.

Now, Bowles has been spending the holiday season leaving surprise gifts across the U.K., according to a new post on the Reading Room Instagram account. On the account, they said, “With The Reading Room planting signed copies of our authors' books in phonebox libraries around the UK in recent weeks, The Duchess of Cornwall decided to swing by this fabulous library near Birkhall, the Scottish home of Their Royal Highnesses, and add to the collection. What an amazing location for a book swap!”

In the two snaps, a smiling Bowles stands in a red phone booth while holding a pair of books, one of which is a copy of one of her faves: The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy.

The duchess first announced this giveaway back in December, when she posted a photo from what seems to be the same location. As she held up Mackesy's book, the caption read, “We're so grateful to all our wonderful friends who follow The Reading Room. As a little thank you, we'll be planting signed copies of our authors' books in community phonebox libraries around the UK over the next few weeks...Tag us in a photo of your local phonebox library and you never know, one of The Reading Room elves might just deliver a copy in time for Christmas...”

Of course, we saw the Duchess of Cambridge acting as a book fairy herself back in 2021, when she hid copies of Hold Still to celebrate its publication. This was shared on her and Prince William's Instagram account, where they said, “Let the search begin! We’ve joined @bookfairies_uk for the day to share copies of Hold Still around the UK with you.”

Can the duchesses hide a couple of copies on our side of the pond next?

Want more royal family news sent right to your inbox? Click here.