Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
The Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series Goes to Jeremy Strong for ‘Succession’
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

This next category honors the celebs who know how to make us cry.

Tonight, the 72nd annual Emmy Awards took place for the franchise’s first-ever virtual show. During the ceremony, Jeremy Strong won the highly coveted award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for Succession.

The actor was up against a stacked list of nominees, including Jason Bateman for Ozark, Sterling K. Brown for This Is Us, Steve Carell for The Morning Show, Brian Cox for Succession and Billy Porter for Pose.

The Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series category originally made its debut in 1954. Previous winners include Billy Porter for Pose, Matthew Rhys for The Americans, Sterling K. Brown for This Is Us, Rami Malek for Mr. Robot, Jon Hamm for Mad Men, Bryan Cranston for Breaking Bad, Jeff Daniels for The Newsroom, Damian Lewis for Homeland, Kyle Chandler for Friday Night Lights, Dennis Franz for NYPD Blue, Andre Braugher for Homicide: Life on the Street, Mandy Patinkin for Chicago Hope, Tom Skerritt for Picket Fences, Christopher Lloyd for Road to Avonlea, James Earl Jones for Gabriel’s Fire, Peter Falk for Columbo, Carroll O’Connor for In the Heat of the Night and Richard Kiley for A Year in the Life.

Cranston and Franz currently hold the record for most wins in this category, with four statuettes each.

Congratulations to Strong and all the worthy nominees!

RELATED: The Complete List of 2020 Emmy Award Nominees (Oof, That Lead Actress Category Is *Stacked*)

From Around The Web

The News—But Only the Fun Stuff—
Delivered Right to Your Inbox.