‘Parasite’ Receives the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay

bong joon ho oscars

Green Book has officially been dethroned.

Tonight, the 92nd annual Academy Awards took place at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. During the ceremony, Parasite took home the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay.

The movie was up against Knives Out, Marriage Story, 1917 and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

The Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay has been around since 1940. Unlike Best Adapted Screenplay, the category recognizes movies that aren’t based upon previously published material.

Previous winners include Green Book, Get Out, Manchester by the Sea, Spotlight, Birdman, Her, Django Unchained, Midnight in Paris, The King’s Speech, The Hurt Locker, Milk, Juno, Little Miss Sunshine, Crash, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Lost in Translation, Talk to Her, Gosford Park, Almost Famous, American Beauty, Shakespeare in Love, Good Will Hunting, Fargo, The Usual Suspects, Pulp Fiction, The Piano, The Crying Game, Thelma & Louise and Ghost.

Woody Allen (Annie Hall, Midnight in Paris) currently holds the record for the most wins in this category, with a total of three statuettes. He’s followed by a four-way tie between Charles Brackett, Paddy Chayefsky, Quentin Tarantino and Billy Wilder, who each have two Oscars.

Congratulations to Bong Joon Ho!

Oscar Predictions 2020 From Renée Zellweger to Brad Pitt

Greta Heggeness

Senior Editor

Greta Heggeness is a California-based editor at PureWow and has been writing about entertainment since 2015. She covers everything from awards shows to exclusive celebrity...
read full bio