‘1917’ Lands the Oscar for Best Cinematography

roger deakins oscars

It’s officially time to honor the masterminds behind the camera.

Tonight, Hollywood’s biggest stars gathered at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles for the 92nd annual Academy Awards. During the ceremony, 1917 won the Oscar for Best Cinematography.

The movie beat out a critically acclaimed group of nominees, including The Irishman, Joker, The Lighthouse and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

The Academy Award for Best Cinematography has been around since the Oscars debuted in 1929. The statuette is given to the cinematographer for his/her work on one particular film.

Previous winners include Roma, Blade Runner 2049, La La Land, The Revenant, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Gravity, Life of Pi, Hugo, Inception, Avatar, Slumdog Millionaire, There Will Be Blood, Pan’s Labyrinth, Memoirs of a Geisha, The Aviator, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, Road to Perdition, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

Leon Shamroy (The Black Swan, Cleopatra) and Joseph Ruttenberg (Somebody Up There Likes Me, Mrs. Miniver) currently hold the record for the most wins in this category, with four statuettes each.

*Slow clap*

Oscar Predictions 2020 From Renée Zellweger to Brad Pitt

Greta Heggeness

Senior Editor

Greta Heggeness is a California-based editor at PureWow and has been writing about entertainment since 2015. She covers everything from awards shows to exclusive celebrity...
read full bio