Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
PureWow
2018 books header unsplash

The Best Books We Read in 2018

From a dark parody of our current obsession with self-care and examinations of female rage to a thrilling true-crime story that led to the suspect's eventual capture, here are the 35 best books we read this year.  

RELATED: 5 Books That Will Help You Lead a Happier Life

Fiction

my year of rest and relaxation ottessa moshfegh

My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh

An unnamed woman decides to avoid the ills of the world (and her own life) by hibernating for a year...all inside her fancy Upper East Side apartment. A darkly funny look at extreme self-care.

Buy the book

milkman anna burns

Milkman by Anna Burns

This winner of the Man Booker Prize is set during The Troubles in Northern Ireland, and follows an 18-year-old girl who's forced into a relationship by an older married man.

Buy the book

girls burn brighter shobha rao

Girls Burn Brighter by Shobha Rao

Set in an Indian village in the early 2000s, this debut novel explores how far a woman will go to reclaim the one sustaining relationship in her life. It's ideal for fans of Elena Ferrante's Neapolitan Novels. 

Buy the book

the great believers rebecca makkai

The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai

Set in 1980s Chicago and contemporary Paris, Makkai's intertwining stories are about friendship, redemption and trying to find goodness in the midst of disaster.

Buy the book

a river of stars vanessa hua

A River of Stars by Vanessa Hua

After getting pregnant by her married boss, a Chinese woman is sent to a secret maternity home in L.A., where she tries to deal with her overbearing housemates and grab her share of the American dream.

Buy the book

asymmetry lisa halliday

Asymmetry by Lisa Halliday

Halliday's debut alternates between two stories: In New York, a young editor begins an affair with a much older, world-famous writer. In London, an Iraqi-American economist en route to Kurdistan finds himself detained for the weekend. 

Buy the book

an american marriage tayari jones

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

This Oprah Book Club pick is a modern love story about a young couple who gets torn apart by a wrongful conviction. If you’re fascinated by the intimacies and struggles of relationships, you’ll zip right through it. 

Buy the book

bitter orange claire fuller

Bitter Orange by Claire Fuller

Set in the summer of 1969 in a dilapidated English country mansion, a woman becomes enthralled by the lives of her neighbors: a glamorous, hedonistic couple who might not be what they seem.

Buy the book

the immortalists chloe benjamin

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

In 1969 in New York City, four siblings go to a psychic who tells them the day they’ll die. Told from each sibling’s perspective, it raises the question of whether knowing when you’ll die encourages you to live life to the fullest or causes more harm than good?

Buy the book

tell the machine goodnight katie williams

Tell the Machine Goodnight by Katie Williams

Told from the alternating perspectives of a woman and her teenage son, Tell the Machine Goodnight offers a smart and touching commentary on technological advances and the ways they define us.

Buy the book

the friend sigrid nunez

The Friend by Sigrid Nunez

When a woman unexpectedly loses her lifelong best friend and mentor, she's left to care for his giant Great Dane. The Friend is a meditation on loss and a celebration of the love humans have for their dogs.

Buy the book

a place for us fatima farheen mirza

A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza

In the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker’s new publishing imprint, an Indian wedding brings a family back together, forcing patriarch Rafiq and matriarch Layla to come to grips with certain choices their children have made.

Buy the book

Essays and Short Stories

feel free zadie smith

Feel Free by Zadie Smith

The essays in Smith’s latest collection were written during the Obama presidency, but they’re neither stale nor dated, and span topics from identity and freedom to the comedy of Key and Peele.

Buy the book

you think it ill say it curtis sittenfeld

You Think It, I'll Say It by Curtis Sittenfeld

From the whip-smart author of American Wife and Eligible, an engrossing collection of short stories about everything from female friendship and social media to the election of Donald Trump.

Buy the book

all the names they used for god anjali sachdeva

All the Names They Used for God by Anjali Sachdeva

The nine stories in Sachdeva’s enchanting debut span time (past and future), space (Nigeria to New Hampshire) and logic (realism and magical realism). 

Buy the book

floriida lauren groff

Florida by Lauren Groff

From the author of Fates and Furies, these strange and spooky stories concern snakes, storms and motherhood, and are all set in the titular state. 

Buy the book

motherhood sheila heti

Motherhood by Sheila Heti

From the author of How Should a Person Be?Motherhood asks what’s gained and what’s lost (physically, mentally and emotionally) when a woman becomes a mother—all with candor and humor.

Buy the book

Memoirs

youre on an airplane parker posey

You're on an Airplane by Parker Posey

Actress Posey (Dazed and ConfusedYou’ve Got Mail) opens up in her first-ever memoir about her colorful Southern childhood, life on the set and the realities of fame.

Buy the book

becoming michelle obama

Becoming by Michelle Obama

From her childhood on the South Side of Chicago, to her years as an executive, to her time spent in the White House, the former first lady's highly anticipated memoir is candid and inspiring.

Buy the book

all you can ever know nicole chung

All You Can Ever Know by Nicole Chung

Chung was born to Korean parents and adopted and raised by a white family in Oregon. Her debut memoir is a moving story about her search for her birth parents while expecting a child of her own.

Buy the book

educated tara westover

Educated by Tara Westover

Born to survivalists in Idaho, Westover was 17 the first time she set foot in a classroom. Her memoir charts her quest for knowledge from Harvard and Cambridge University and beyond.

Buy the book

small fry lisa brennan jobs

Small Fry by Lisa Brennan-Jobs

The daughter of Steve Jobs and artist Chrisann Brennan, Small Fry unpacks the author's childhood in a rapidly changing Silicon Valley and her strained relationship with both of her parents. 

Buy the book

unwifeable mandy stadtmiller

Unwifeable by Mandy Stadtmiller

Candid, messy and funny, the writer and comedian's first memoir is packed with wild, name drop-y stories about high-profile hookups and the author's roundabout path to self-discovery.

Buy the book

History and True Crime

99 glimpses of princess margaret craig brown

Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret by Craig Brown

Combining interviews, diaries, announcements and more, Brown’s biography chronicles the dramatic and fascinating life of Queen Elizabeth's enigmatic and divisive sister. 

Buy the book

ill be gone in the dark michelle mcnamara

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

Published two years after McNamara's death, her book examines the previously unsolved case of the Golden State Killer, and contributed to his ultimate capture this past spring.   

Buy the book

the real lolita sarah weinman

The Real Lolita by Sarah Weinman

Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita was inspired by the 1948 abduction of 11-year-old Sally Horner. Weaving together crime narrative, cultural and social history and literary investigation, Weinman tells Horner’s full story for the first time.

Buy the book

Politics and Identity

rage becomes her soraya chemaly

Rage Becomes Her by Soraya Chemaly

In Rage Becomes Her, Chemaly examines women's anger, the ways in which we're encouraged to resist our rage and how women who justifiably express it are often punished.

Buy the book

good and mad rebecca traister

Good and Mad by Rebecca Traister

Traister’s (All the Single Ladies) latest is an exploration of the transformative power of female anger and its ability to transcend into a political movement.

Buy the book

eloquent rage brittney cooper

Eloquent Rage by Brittney Cooper

In this timely book, Women’s and Gender Studies and Africana Studies professor Cooper explores the ways sexism, racism and classism are linked, and how feminism has the potential to begin undoing the damage.

Buy the book

Young Adult

children of blood adn bone

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

In this captivating, West African-inspired debut, 17-year-old Zélie journeys to a mythical land to try to bring back magic to her country, Orïsha. Put it on your to-read list immediately.

Buy the book

the poet x elizabeth acevedo

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Xiomara is 15 years old and feels simultaneously unheard and unable to hide. In her Harlem neighborhood, she resorts to fighting to stand her ground. Then she discovers slam poetry, and it transforms her relationship to the world.

Buy the book

blood water paint joy mccollough

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

Though set in 17th-century Rome, this haunting retelling of the life of artist and feminist icon Artemisia Gentileschi is timely, tackling patriarchal oppression and sexual assault. 

Buy the book

Thrillers

the favorite sister jessica knoll

The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll

Knoll's (Luckiest Girl Alive) latest juicy read follows five hyper-competitive women appearing on a reality show that’s part Real Housewives, part Shark Tank.

Buy the book

the witch elm tana french

The Witch Elm by Tana French

When an easygoing 20-something is badly beaten in his apartment by robbers, the damage permeates every aspect of his life, from his appearance and memory to his sense of self. 

Buy the book

the woman in the window aj finn

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

An agoraphobic woman witnesses something she shouldn’t while spying on the family across the street in this creepily enthralling novel that you can easily devour in a day or two. 

Buy the book