Dinnertime rolls around, and the craving hits you like a freight train: mmm, a Double ShackBurger with cheese fries and a vanilla milkshake. If you can safely consume gluten, you can beeline it to the closest Shake Shack without a second thought. But if you’re allergic to wheat, you’ll need to pause. *Can* you eat gluten-free at Shake Shack? Allow us to share the good news: Yes, you can—with a few simple modifications. We scoured the menu for all the gluten-friendly items to order, which we’ve listed below with nutrition info and tips for ordering. (P.S.: All of Shake Shack’s nutritional info and allergen info is available online. The nutrition info listed below doesn’t account for modifications.)
How to Order Gluten-Free at Shake Shack: Our Top Menu Recs, from Fries to Burgers
Meet the Expert
Dr. Felicia Stoler, DCN, is a registered dietitian, nutritionist and exercise physiologist. She’s the author of Living Skinny in Fat Genes: The Healthy Way to Lose Weight and Feel Great and the former host of TLC’s Honey, We’re Killing the Kids.
A Word on Eating Gluten-Free
If you think going gluten-free will help you lose weight or get “healthy” (whatever that means to you), consider this expert advice. Only those with celiac disease and gluten intolerances and sensitivities should go totally gluten-free. “It is not a weight loss diet,” says Stoler. Due to common wheat-based ingredients and products being fortified by law with certain vitamins and minerals, “there are nutrient deficiencies that may occur as a result of eating gluten-free: fiber, iron, folate, thiamine, niacin and riboflavin...Fiber is a big concern, because most people don’t consume enough each day.”
Does Shake Shack Make Anything Gluten-Free?
Yes. Most of the fries, drinks and shakes are naturally gluten-free. As for burgers and sandwiches, most Shake Shack locations offer gluten-free buns, and if your go-to restaurant doesn’t, you can always request a lettuce wrap instead of a wheat bun or go bunless. If you’re unsure that a menu item contains wheat, filter by allergen on Shake Shack’s web ordering page.
As for what’s off limits, basically anything breaded is impossible to make gluten-free, including the ’Shroom Burger, Chick’n Bites and all chicken sandwiches. Concretes are also not gluten-free. There’s also no gluten-free substitute for the grilled cheese’s bread, unless you want to order it on a gluten-free burger bun.
Can People with Celiac Disease Eat at Shake Shack?
Yes, if they modify certain menu items. There are also a handful of items (like ShackSauce, veggie patties, bacon caramelized onions, STL sauce, herb mayonnaise, BBQ sauce, relish, breakfast sausage, Shack Cheese Sauce, select milkshakes and every type of fries) that are processed in a factory where possible cross-contact with wheat can occur. Shake Shack also doesn’t have a fryer dedicated to wheat-free items. So, if you have a serious allergy or sensitivity, it may be best to steer clear. Check out Shake Shack’s allergen fact sheet to see the full list.
How to Order Gluten-Free at Shake Shack
- Nutrition Information: 500 calories, 30g fat, 26g carbs, 29g protein, 6g sugar
- Make It Gluten-Free: ask for a gluten-free bun, lettuce wrap or no bun
If the ShackSauce’s potential for cross-contact with wheat doesn’t give you pause, this signature handheld is a solid option—as long as you sub the bun. If you’re concerned about consuming the ShackSauce, opt for a cheeseburger or double cheeseburger, which are made with only beef and American cheese.
Burgers that can be made gluten-free: ShackBurger, Double ShackBurger, SmokeShack, Cheeseburger, Double Cheeseburger
Burgers that can’t be made gluten-free and their wheat-containing ingredients: BBQ Cheddar Burger (crispy fried onions), ’Shroom Burger (mushroom patty), ShackStack (mushroom patty), Double ShackStack (mushroom patty)
- Nutrition Information: 470 calories, 22g fat, 63g carbs, 6g protein, 1g sugar
- Make It Gluten-Free: no modifications necessary
All of Shake Shack’s famously crisp, crinkle-cut fries don’t inherently contain gluten, but they’re all processed in a factory where they can come in contact with wheat. Same goes for the Shack Cheese Sauce that comes on the Cheese Fries, Bacon Cheese Fries and Double Down Fries. As long as you’re not seriously allergic to gluten, all fry orders should be safe.
Fries that can be made gluten-free: Fries, Cheese Fries, Veal Bacon and Cheese Fries, BBQ Veal Bacon Cheese Fries, Double Down Fries
Fries that can’t be made gluten-free and their wheat-containing ingredients: n/a
3. New York-Style Hot Dog
- Nutrition Information: 350 calories, 22g fat, 25g carbs, 16g protein, 6g sugar
- Make It Gluten-Free: ask for a lettuce wrap or no bun
These Vienna all-beef dogs are on the menu for gluten-free diners, as long as they nix the bun. There are no gluten-free hot dog buns available, so if you want a frank, you’ll have to go bunless or substitute a lettuce wrap. Pass the ketchup, will ya?
Hot dogs that can be made gluten-free: New York-Style Hot Dog, Cheese Hot Dog, Veal Bacon Cheddar Dog
Hot Dogs that can’t be made gluten-free and their wheat-containing ingredients: n/a
Shakes, Floats, Concretes, Cups & Cones
- Nutrition Information: varies by item
- Make It Gluten-Free: no modifications necessary
Most of the milkshakes are totally free of gluten and aren’t flagged for possible cross-contact with wheat. The cups and cones are in the clear as well. Concretes contain ingredients like red velvet cake and graham cracker crust, so wheat is present in those. As for regular drinks, like sodas and lemonades, they’re all gluten-free.
Shakes, floats, concretes, cups & cones that can be made gluten-free: Vanilla Shake, Chocolate Shake, Strawberry Shake, Peachtree Shake, Pepsi Float, Root Beer Float, Purple Cow Float, Creamsicle Float, Chocolate Cup, Vanilla Cup
Shakes, floats, concretes, cups & cones that can’t be made gluten-free and their wheat-containing ingredients: Cookies & Cream Shake (cookie crumbles), Bourbon Salted Honey Shake (doesn’t contain gluten, but could have come in contact with wheat), Black & White Shake (doesn’t contain gluten, but could have come in contact with wheat), Red Velvet Concrete (red velvet cake), Strawberry Cheesecake Concrete (cheesecake)