Tony Shalhoub Snagged the Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

tony shalhoub emmy awards

Just because they’re supporting actors doesn’t make them any less impressive.

Tonight, television’s biggest stars gathered for the 71st annual Emmy Awards, which took place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. During the ceremony, Tony Shalhoub won the statuette for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for playing Abe Weissman in The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, which stars Rachel Brosnahan, Alex Borstein and Marin Hinkle.

Other nominees included Anthony Carrigan for Barry, Alan Arkin for The Kominsky Method, Stephen Root for Barry, Tony Hale for Veep and Henry Winkler for Barry.

The Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series category has been around since 1954. Shalhoub is joining a large list of previous all-star winners, like Henry Winkler for Barry, Alec Baldwin for Saturday Night Live, Louie Anderson for Baskets, Tony Hale for Veep, Ty Burrell for Modern Family, Eric Stonestreet for Modern Family, Jon Cryer for Two and a Half Men and Jeremy Piven for Entourage.

Don Knotts currently holds the record for most wins in this category, with five statuettes for The Andy Griffith Show.

*Slow clap*

‘Game of Thrones’ Dominates 2019 Emmy Award Nominations—See the Complete List of Nominees


Senior Editor

Greta Heggeness is a California-based editor at PureWow and has been writing about entertainment since 2015. She covers everything from awards shows to exclusive celebrity...