Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
PureWow

This Is Us is officially back, people. And even though you’re probably tuning in every Tuesday, you might find yourself craving more than an hour of fictional family drama each week. That’s why we’ve compiled a list of seven books in the same vein—think: parental loss, sibling dynamics and oh so much crying. 

RELATED: 11 Books for When You Need a Good Ugly-Cry

the house we grew up in lisa jewell
Cover: Atria Books; Background: Twenty20

The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell 

The Bird family seems perfect: A sweet father, free-spirited mother and three smart, adventurous children. Then one Easter weekend, tragedy strikes, beginning to tear the family apart. After years of near estrangement, something happens to bring the Birds back to the house they grew up in—and finally understand how their ideal life came crashing down. 

Buy the book

everything i never told you celeste ng
Cover: Penguin Books; Background: Twenty20

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

In 1970s Ohio, a Chinese-American family is rocked by the disappearance of its favorite daughter. When her body is found in the local lake, the Lees’ carefully crafted façade is destroyed. What follows is a moving and sensitive family portrait about the ways in which mothers and daughters, fathers and sons, and husbands and wives struggle to understand one another.

Buy the book

the mothers brit bennett
Cover: Riverhead Books; Background: Twenty20

The Mothers by Brit Bennett 

Nadia, Luke and Aubrey are three young people coming of age in a tight-knit African American community in Southern California. After moving across the country for college and law school, Nadia returns to her hometown, where she’s forced to confront unfinished business from her youth. Told partly by Nadia and partly by a judgmental chorus of women from church (the titular “Mothers”), Bennett’s novel is sad and wise, tackling themes of secrets, loyalty and the lasting impact of the decisions we make when we’re young.

Buy the book

the prince of tides pat conroy
Cover: Dial Press Trade Paperback; Background: Twenty20

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy 

Spanning 40 years and jumping between South Carolina’s Low Country and a gritty but shiny NYC, Conroy’s classic novel tells the story of Tom, his gifted and troubled twin, Savannah, and their struggle to triumph over the dark and tragic legacy of their family.

Buy the book

the immortalists chloe benjamin
Cover: G.P. Putnam’s Sons; Background: Twenty20

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin 

It’s 1969 on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, and the four Gold siblings—Varya, Daniel, Klara and Simon—hear about a psychic in their neighborhood who professes to know how long they have to live. Told in sections from each sibling’s perspective, it raises the question: Does knowing when you’ll die encourage you to live life to the fullest, or does it cause more harm than good? 

Buy the book

the corrections jonathan franzen
Cover: Picador; Background: Twenty20

The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen 

Enid Lambert has been a wife and mother for almost 50 years. Her husband is losing his sanity to Parkinson's disease, and their children—all of whom narrate parts of the novel—have long since left the nest. Despite the cards being stacked against her, Enid, desperate for something to look forward to, sets out to bring her family together for one last Christmas at home. 

Buy the book

this is where i leave you jonathan tropper
Cover: Dutton; Background: Twenty20

This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

The death of Judd’s father marks the first time that his whole family has been together in years. Mourning the loss of his father and his marriage (having recently uncovered his wife’s affair), Judd, his mother and his siblings reluctantly sit shiva and spend seven days and nights under the same roof. 

Buy the book

RELATED: 10 TV Shows to Watch When You Need a Good Cry

From Around The Web