Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
PureWow

Back in May, the Netflix series Sweet Magnolias took the streaming platform by storm. If you're unfamiliar, the show, which is based on Sherryl Woods’s book series, tells the story of three grown women who were born and raised in Serenity, South Carolina. The problem? They still reside there, which means they’re now facing all the same small-town dilemmas…as adults. In her review of the first episode, PureWow's Entertainment and News Editor Greta Heggeness summed up the series like this: “I’m pleased to announce that it’s a total must-watch for anyone who’s a sucker for cheesy romantic dramas, like Hart of Dixie and Gilmore Girls (or anything Hallmark).” If that's your vibe—and you can't wait for season two to air—consider picking up one of these five similar books.

RELATED: Looking for Shows like ‘Sweet Magnolias’? These 8 Are Just as Binge-worthy

1. virgin river by robyn carr

In this book—which is also a Netflix series—Melinda “Mel” Monroe is a midwife and nurse practitioner who moves to a remote California town for a fresh start. Though she tries to leave her painful memories behind, she soon learns that her past secrets can only stay buried for so long.

Buy the book

2. something borrowed by emily giffin

In Giffin's debut novel, Rachel is a hard-working attorney at a large Manhattan firm and a diligent maid of honor to her best friend Darcy, who has always shined while Rachel played sidekick. But everything changes when Rachel confesses her feelings to Darcy's fiance, who feels the same way. As the wedding gets closer, Rachel has to choose between her heart and conscience, discovering that life is sometimes messy, and you might have to risk everything to be your true self.

Buy the book

3. the sisterhood of the traveling pants by ann brashares

You've seen the movies, but have you read the books? In this first installment of Brashares's series, we meet four friends—Lena, Tibby, Bridget and Carmen—whose lives are changed by a pair of pants that magically fits them all. Like Sweet Magnolias, it's a cute story about female friendship.

Buy the book

4. california girls by susan mallery

Sisters Finola, Zennie and Ali may all live in California, but it's not all sunshine and roses when the three of them get dumped...in the same week. Together, they rebuild their lives while realizing that defining yourself by the person you're with isn't worth anything if you aren't at peace with your self as an individual.

Buy the book

5. the animators by kayla rae whitaker

In the male-dominated field of animation, college friends Mel and Sharon are a dynamic duo. But just as they reach the height of their professional careers, their partnership begins to fray, exposing resentments neither one saw coming.

Buy the book

PureWow may earn compensation through affiliate links in this story.

From Around The Web