What Color Is My Aura? Plus, 7 Aura Color Meanings You Should Know

aura photo

Maybe you’ve seen aura photographs on Instagram. Maybe you loved your mood ring as a kid and want a way to read your energy as an adult. Either way, you’re curious about auras, and that’s great—it’s a super interesting topic with lots and lots of layers. Here we’ll dive into the basics, including what auras are and what different aura colors can say about your energy.

What are auras?

On a very basic level, auras are fields of energy surrounding a person's physical body, and are influenced by our mood, emotional state and the presence of other people’s moods and emotions. Auras typically appear as one, or a combination of seven colors, all of which are associated with different qualities and emotions. Note that your aura is often a combination of colors, with one being more dominant than the others. Additionally, each layer of your aura is said to correspond to a different chakra, a Sanskrit word that translates to “wheel” or “disk,” and refers to the shape of these whirling energy centers that unite mind, body and spirit.


What do the different aura colors mean?

1. Red

Energetic and passionate, red auras represent an active and strong-willed person. Red auras are said to correspond with the root chakra. Located at the base of your spine, this chakra’s energetic function is to help us maintain a sense of groundedness and inner stability.

2. Orange

Outgoing and happy, an orange aura means you’re feeling creative and adventurous. Orange auras are said to correspond with the sacral chakra. Located at your pelvis, this chakra’s energetic function is to help us regulate our emotions and desires, so as not to be driven by them.

3. Yellow

Mimicking the color of the sun, a yellow aura represents friendliness, contentedness and creativity. Yellow auras are said to correspond with the solar plexus chakra. Located at your belly button, this chakra gives us the confidence we need to process and eliminate what does not serve us, and to let it go.

4. Green

This one is all about healing, nurturing and compassion. Green auras are said to correspond to the heart chakra. Located at the center of your chest, this chakra’s energetic function is to help us tap into unconditional love.

5. Blue

Those presenting with a blue aura are peaceful, intuitive and spiritual free thinkers. Blue auras are said to correspond to the throat chakra. Located at the base of your throat, this chakra’s energetic function is to help us find authentic self-expression.

6. Indigo

Curious and gentle, an indigo or dark purple aura can signify a good imagination and high levels of empathy. Indigo auras are said to correspond to the third eye chakra. Located on your forehead in between your eyes, this chakra’s energetic function is to help us learn to know ourselves emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

7. White

Less frequently seen than the other colors, a white aura can signify that you have a strong sense of connection to something larger than yourself. White auras are said to correspond to the crown chakra. Located at the top of the head, this chakra helps us function in a more enlightened way, cultivate self-mastery and find a sense of connection with all.

How do I determine my aura color?

There are a couple ways to figure out what color your aura is. While you can go to a professional spiritualist, shaman or clairvoyant, the simplest and most straightforward way is to a photograph taken of it (you can see an example of aura photography above). There are places to have this done all over the country, and the easiest way to find the one nearest to you is to simply Google 'aura photography near me.' 

Can I read other people's auras? 

Unless you're on of the aforementioned experts (a spiritualist, shaman, clairvoyant, etc.), you probably won't be able to read someone else's aura just by looking at them. If they've had their aura photographed, however, that's a different story (you can literally see the aura color emanating around them, as seen in the photo above). 

Here’s What You Need to Know About Chakra Meditation (Including Why It Might Help You Sleep Better)

sarah stiefvater

Wellness Director

Sarah Stiefvater is PureWow's Wellness Director. She's been at PureWow for ten years, and in that time has written and edited stories across all categories, but currently focuses...