And the Winner of ‘The Masked Singer’ Is…

monster masked singer winner

Last night, Fox crowned its debut winner of The Masked Singer, and we didn’t see it coming, like, whatsoever.

During yesterday’s finale, the Monster beat out the Peacock for the highly coveted Golden Mask Trophy after performing “This Is How We Do It” by Montell Jordan. When host Nick Cannon announced the news, he simultaneously revealed the Monster’s identity: T-Pain.

The news might come as a shock to some fans, considering the judges regularly praised the Monster’s spot-on singing voice, and T-Pain is mainly known for his rapping.

“I didn’t have a chance to come to the game with my natural voice,” he said. “A lot of peers did, and they get accepted. This helped me get my voice out there even more.”

The artist edged out the Bee and the Peacock during last night’s finale. The second runner-up was the Bee, who turned out to be Gladys Knight. The first runner-up was the Peacock, who surprised us all when Neil Patrick Harris wasn’t under the mask. Instead, it was Donny Osmond. Go figure.

The Masked Singer features celebrities battling it out in a singing-style competition, but there’s a catch: The contestants wear elaborate costumes to conceal their identity from the celeb panel—Robin Thicke, Jenny McCarthy, Nicole Scherzinger and Ken Jeong.

Previous unmasked celebrities include Joey Fatone (Rabbit), Rumer Willis (Lion), La Toya Jackson (Alien), Ricki Lake (Raven), Tori Spelling (Unicorn), Margaret Cho (Poodle), Terry Bradshaw (Deer), Tommy Chong (Pineapple) and Antonio Brown (Hippo).

Well played, T-Pain. Well played.


Senior Editor

Greta Heggeness is a California-based editor at PureWow and has been writing about entertainment since 2015. She covers everything from awards shows to exclusive celebrity...