Mazels all around on upgrading your phone. But before you sell, donate or give your kid that deactivated iPhone, follow these super-important steps to make sure all those photos of your dog are safe and sound and that your personal data doesn’t get into the wrong hands.

phoneupdate1

SYNC AND DO A TOTAL BACKUP

Why you should do it: Cloud users are most likely already covered, but just in case, it never hurts to do a manual backup. (God forbid you were to lose your photos, right?)

How you do it: Easy. Connect your phone via USB to your computer. Open iTunes, select your iPhone device, then click Back Up Now. This will keep a record of your contacts, your calendar, your bookmarks and more.

To save your music and photos, you’ll need to sync them separately into Photos and iTunes. (Full instructions here.) Once you have your new device, simply plug it into your machine and hit Restore.

phoneupdate2

LOG OUT, SIGN OUT AND DELETE

Why you should it: If you’re selling or giving away your old device, you don’t want any of your personal information going along with it. Logging out of your apps, Apple ID and deleting your iCloud account takes that extra precaution. It also safeguards against possible future glitches you definitely don’t have time to deal with.

How you do it: Before you do the full erase (step #3) and after you’ve backed up, simply log out of the apps with lots of personal info like Venmo, Dropbox and iTunes.

To log out of your Apple ID, open Settings, tap App and iTunes Stores, tap Apple ID and sign out.

To uncouple your phone with iCloud, open Settings, tap on iCloud, scroll to Delete Account, tap and confirm. Voilà!

phoneupdate3

DO A SECURE ERASE

Why you should do it: This is the step that reverts your old phone to its original factory settings so it feels brand-new and ready to sell…at least on the inside.

How you do it: Go into your iPhone’s settings, tap General, Reset and Erase All Content and Settings (deep breaths). After a few minutes, all the data on your phone will be wiped out. Perform this step only when you’re emotionally ready to say goodbye.

From Around The Web