Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
PureWow

You have borderline too-strong feelings on who should end up on the Iron Throne. You tear up at the mere mention of the Red Wedding. You’ve even thought about what you’d do when confronted by a White Walker. You’re a certified Game of Thrones fanatic. To sate your Westeros cravings until the new (and final) season comes out, consider picking up one of these similarly-themed novels.

RELATED: This Theory About How ‘Game of Thrones’ Season 8 Will End Is the Best on the Internet

the iron king maurice druon
cover: harpercollins; background: unsplash

The Iron King by Maurice Druon

George R.R. Martin has called Druon’s Accursed King series “The original Game of Thrones.” The seven-book series, published between 1955 and 1977, is set during the reigns of the last five kings of the Capetian dynasty and the first two kings of the House of Valois in France. This first book begins as the French King Philip the Fair, already surrounded by scandal and intrigue, brings a curse upon his family when he persecutes the Knights Templar.

Buy the book

the white queen philippa gregory
cover: atria books; background: unsplash

The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

Acclaimed historical novelist Gregory’s 2009 work was the inspiration for the Starz miniseries The White Queen, and charts the extraordinary story of Elizabeth Woodville, a woman who rises from obscurity to become Queen of England, changing the course of history forever. Basically, it’s perfect for fans of GoT’s cutthroat fight for the Iron Throne.

Buy the book

the gunslinger stephen king
cover: scribner; background: unsplash

The Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Stephen King has called his eight-book Dark Tower series (written between 1998 and 2004) his masterpiece. The books follow Roland of Gilead: The Last Gunslinger, a loner on a journey into good and evil in a desolate world. Fusing Western fiction, fantasy, science fiction and horror, the novel follows Roland's trek through a vast desert in search of “the man in black.”

Buy the book

the name of the wind patrick rothfuss
cover: daw books; background: unsplash

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The first novel in the ongoing Kingkiller Chronicle series introduces protagonist Kvothe, a musician and adventurer who tells the story of his life (studying magic and seeking vengeance against the group that killed his family), from the tavern where he lives in self-imposed exile. Unconvinced? Take it from George R.R. Martin, who called it “The best epic fantasy I read last year…He’s bloody good, this Rothfuss guy.”

Buy the book

a wizard of earthsea ursula k leguin
cover: HMH Books for Young Readers; background: unsplash

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

First published in 1968, Le Guin’s A Wizard of Earthsea was the first of six Earthsea titles. In it we meet Ged, a sorcerer who, in his hunger for power and knowledge, tampered with secrets and unleashed a terrible shadow on the world. The series follows his quest to restore balance and undo the damage he caused.

Buy the book 

RELATED: 9 Books to Read if You Loved ‘Harry Potter’

From Around The Web