You’d love to reduce clutter on your iPhone for two reasons: 1. To save space. 2. To save your sanity. Here, seven easy places to start.

sisters

OLD TEXT MESSAGES FROM YOUR SISTER

You love texting her the photo play-by-play of your life. But check your iPhone’s storage (Settings>General>Storage & iCloud Usage>Messages) and you’ll see the toll it takes on your available space. Our advice? Save the text message photos you love the most, then delete the entire chain.

hdr

THE HDR (OR NON-HDR) VERSIONS OF YOUR PHOTOS

Unless you’re shooting a landscape or a low-light scene, you really don’t need to rely too much on your iPhone’s HDR setting. Still, if you use it at all, you’ll want to open up your camera roll periodically and delete whichever duplicate version (HDR or normal) you don’t plan to keep. Another option: Go into Settings>Photos & Camera>Keep Normal Photo and toggle it off or on, depending on your preferences. 

RELATED: A Foolproof Way to Manage Your Photos

googlemaps

APPLE OR GOOGLE MAPS

Pick a team. Delete the one you don't use (or if it's Apple Maps, tuck it in its own folder out of sight). That is all.

 

 

oldsongs

OLD SPOTIFY PLAYLISTS

That “2013 Is for Lovers” playlist? Unless you’re still rocking out to it on the regular, remove it from your Spotify account stat (or at least turn off the setting on your phone that says “Available Offline”). All those downloaded tunes take up precious data--data that could be better spent on the new Sia album, by the way.

serial

PODCASTS YOU’VE ALREADY LISTENED TO

So you’re still not over Adnan’s plight. But unless you’re planning to re-listen to all 12 Serial episodes (especially when season 2 is out!), there’s no need to save them on your phone.

futurehusband

PHONE NUMBERS OF PEOPLE WHOSE NAMES YOU DON’T EVEN RECOGNIZE

OK, so technically this doesn’t take up a lot of space on your phone, but do you really need to risk accidentally butt dialing “Vic from the Vegas bar”? No? Didn’t think so.

delete

VOICEMAILS

Remember Vic and the message he left you circa 2011 that’s somehow been transferred every time you upgrade your phone? One word: Delete.

From Around The Web