Billie Eilish is not a closed book. The singer has been open about everything from her choices regarding her unique, edgy style to the musicians she'd love to collaborate with and her relationship with her brother/writing partner, Finneas O'Connell. But what about her diet? The question “is Billie Eilish vegan?” has been posed before, so we did a little investigation into this FAQ.
Turns out Eilish wrote in a 2018 Tumblr post that she made the decision to go vegan—meaning she stripped all animal products, including meat, dairy and eggs, from her diet—in 2014. “There were a lot of reasons,” she wrote in response to a fan asking why she made the switch to vegan. “I love animals and I just think there’s no point in creating something out of an animal when the animal is already there. Leave animals alone. Damn. Also, I’m lactose intolerant and dairy is horrible for your skin and my skin is VERY aware of that.”
Eilish, who was raised vegetarian, took to Instagram last year to further explain her dedication to a vegan lifestyle to her more than 26 million followers by sharing undercover footage from an Indiana dairy farm that supplies Fairlife, a subsidiary of Coca-Cola, which claims to produce a “premium” line of milk with “grass to glass” traceability.
"If you can watch the videos that I just posted and not give a f—k that it’s YOU contributing by LITERALLY EATING the creatures that are being fully tortured just for your pleasure. I feel sorry for you,” she wrote.