Scan this QR Code to follow PureWow on Snapchat!
PureWow

Ladies, shut down your laptops and kick off those red-soled heels, because summer hours are here. For many, that means calling it a day at noon on Friday. Here are eight ways to make the most of your extra time out of the office, from hitting the spa to seeking out a heavenly slice of pie to rooting for the Rangers.

Zazahotel

Hit the Pool

Insider tip: Gain entry to Hotel Zaza’s fabulous pool by booking a manicure at the spa ($45). Once your nails are dry, go lounge and have a cocktail. You’ve earned it.

Hotel Zaza, 2332 Leonard St.; 214-468-8399 or hotelzaza.com

WhiteRockLake

Take a Ride

Ditch your car and ride a bike on the nine-mile trail around White Rock Lake in East Dallas. Your reward: a doughnut at Hypnotic, which can be enjoyed at the beginning, middle or end of your ride (depending on which direction you’re coming from).

Hypnotic Donuts, 9007 Garland Rd.; 214-668-6999 or hypnoticdonuts.com

DallasZoo

Act Like a Kid

Take the DART Red Line from City Place straight to the Dallas Zoo, where you can pet kangaroos and play peekaboo with the chimpanzees.

Dallas Zoo, 650 South R.L. Thornton Frwy.; 469-554-7500 or dallaszoo.com

DallasMuseum

Channel Your Inner Nerd

You always say you’re going to visit the Perot Museum’s massive structure near Downtown, but now’s the time to actually do it. Be sure not to miss the Amazing Animals exhibit. (Did you know that bees can smell fear?)

Perot Museum of Nature and Science, 2201 N. Field St.; 214-428-5555 or perotmuseum.org

EmporiumPies

Eat Your Heart Out

McKinney seems so far away during the week, but the 40-minute drive up Interstate 75 sans traffic makes exploring this quaint little town a breeze. The trip is totally worth it just for a piece of the Smooth Operator (a French-silk chocolate filling in a salty pretzel crust) from Emporium Pies.

Emporium Pies, 107 S. Tennessee St., McKinney; 214-491-1577 or emporiumpies.com

Rangers

Root for the Home Team

Instead of rushing to make the first pitch, get to Globe Life Park in Arlington early and enjoy a three-foot hot dog and frozen Jack and Coke before the Rangers take on the Angels (July 3), Padres (July 10) or Giants (July 31).

Globe Life Park, 1000 Ballpark Way, Arlington; 972-726-4377 or texasrangers.com

BIGD

Be a Part of BIG D

Seek out one or all of the six-foot B&Gs around town--currently there are 18 locations--with a friend so you can take photographs and participate in this interactive project. Fun fact: The city was once nicknamed “the Big D on the Muddy T” (as in Dallas along the Trinity River).

Various B&G statues around Dallas; visitdallas.com

KingSpa

Find Your Zen

At King Spa off Royal Lane and Interstate 35, check in for an afternoon of pampering, or explore the indoor water park without the usual weekend fanfare of kids and other working stiffs.

King Spa, 2154 Royal Lane; 214-420-9070 or kingspa.com

From Around The Web