If the last book you breezed through was Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, we have a feeling you crave an outstanding plot twist. And no, we’re not talking “I see dead people.” We’re talking crime, suspense and murder [insert evil laugh]. Here, ten books to read that aren’t Flynn’s other two (addictive) novels. 

RELATED: 10 Books That Will Get You Out of Your Reading Rut

gone girl books amelia
"Reconstructing Amelia" by Kimberley McCreight

"RECONSTRUCTING AMELIA" BY KIMBERLY MCCREIGHT

“Amelia didn’t jump.” That’s the text message that leads one mother down a winding road to uncover what really happened to her daughter. And trust us, the book keeps you guessing.

Buy the book

gone girl books jacob
"Defending Jacob" by William Landay

"Defending Jacob" by William Landay

An awkward teen stands trial for the brutal murder of his alleged high school bully. The twist? He’s the assistant D.A.’s son. Yep, it’s quite the predicament.

Buy the book

gone girl books silent wife
"The Silent Wife" by A.S.A. Harrison

"The Silent Wife" by A.S.A. Harrison

He’s the victim. She’s the killer. The couple had lived together for 20 years, so what went wrong and how did they get here?

Buy the book

gone girl books luckiest girl
"Luckiest Girl Alive" by Jessica Knoll

"Luckiest Girl Alive" by Jessica Knoll

Ani FaNelli has a charmed life. But she also has a dark, twisted past that’s threatening to unravel everything she’s worked for. Not so lucky, huh?

Buy the book

gone girl books we were liars
"We Were Liars" by E. Lockhart

"We Were Liars" by E. Lockhart

When a well-to-do family summers on their private island, past lies (you knew that was coming) creep to the surface and, of course, ruin everything. This is YA at its creepiest.

Buy the book

gone girl books you
"You" by Caroline Kepnes

"You" by Caroline Kepnes

After Guinevere Beck gives the book salesman her name, he looks up all her social accounts and seamlessly works his way into her life without her realizing she has a stalker. #stoptweeting.

Buy the book

gone girl books bury this
"Bury This" by Andrea Portes

"Bury This" by Andrea Portes

It’s a literal cold case. A young girl in a small Michigan town is found dead in the snow. Twenty-five years later, a rookie detective, determined to bring justice to the victim, digs deeper into the case, revealing a web of small town secrets and lies.

Buy the book

gone girl books cartwheel
"Cartwheel" by Jennifer Dubois

"Cartwheel" by Jennifer Dubois

Think Amanda Knox. But in Buenos Aires. When college student Lily Hayes’s study abroad roommate is found brutally murdered, Lily becomes the prime suspect. Is she really a ruthless killer hiding behind a girl-next-door persona? Or has an innocent woman been wrongly accused?

Buy the book

gone girl books cutting season
"The Cutting Season" by Attica Locke

"The Cutting Season" by Attica Locke

There’s not just one murder mystery, there’s two. And together they span a 100-year time period. Murder mystery + historical fiction = Serious page-turner.

Buy the book

gone girl books fingersmith
"Fingersmith" by Sarah Waters

"Fingersmith" by Sarah Waters

It’s got a mysterious plot, a Victorian London setting and a dash (or more) of erotica. So basically, it’s like Charles Dickens and E.L. James had a baby.

Buy the book 

RELATED: 15 Books to Read If You Loved “The Girl On the Train”

From Around The Web